Lena Simone’s book review 

So aside from being obsessed with makeup and fashion I have another secret passion and its reading! I think a lot more people are reading these days for fun as opposed to having an assignment or just for informational purposes.  Life gets sticky.  It gets boring.  It gets
overwhelming at times.  And what do I do when my brain is about to explode? I grab a good book and get lost in the world which the author created letting all my thoughts wander no where else. For me, I read fairly quickly and tend to get attached to characters so I need a lengthy series to satisfy me.  I started reading ‘The Black Dagger Brotherhood’ series by NY Times #1 Best selling author JR Ward (also known as Jessica Bird) years ago and absolutely love it! For one there are fourteen books so far in the series and another book comes out every year like clockwork. Two, the world she’s created is amazing, not to mention the brothers are hot *swoons*.  The first book is called ‘Dark Lover’ and it all takes place in Caldwell

New York

 where there’s a deadly turf war going on between vampires and their slayers. There also exists a secret band of brothers like no other. Vampire warriors and their king are defenders of their race (and subsequently humans which is mostly for their own anonymity).  It’s a very different than most supernatural thriller/romance books, which is a pleasant surprise.  As the story unfolds brothers are added to the brotherhood and some fall.  And your heart will break with each one. The most recent BDB installment was called ‘The Beast’ which was released this month.  The next installment to the series will be ‘The 


’ to come out in spring 2017. 

There is also a fairly new series that JR Ward has come out with which is a spin off of ‘The Black Dagger Brotherhood’ series called ‘The Black Dagger Legacy’, which the brothers appear in but are not featured.  The spinoff is mostly of new recruits who have brand new faces and new scenarios; the first book is called ‘Blood Kiss’.  The second is ‘Blood Vow’ to come out in December 2016.
For more information on Jr Ward, The Brotherhood and more go to www.jrward.com 
Another series I just cannot get enough of is The ‘Afterlife’ Series by 

 indie author Stephanie Hudson (who is absolutely amazing!! – no really she is).  Another amazing world created that you wish to be lost in (or at least I have, no doubt you will as well once you start reading).  I cannot rave enough about how awesome this series is.  There are seven books so far in the series. The first book is called ‘Afterlife’ where your journey begins at club Afterlife which is just a regular gothic nightclub where small town gossip is fuelled by the presence of a rich and unearthly, handsome family.  But for some reason the strange place seems to make time stand still and guests feel the presence of something more powerful held within the confines of the VIP. A young woman, Kiera, moves to the town to live with her sister to escape her own dark past and crosses paths with the club’s (and really the entire town’s elite), Dominic Draven.  She becomes obsessed with him and the pair seem unnaturally drawn to each other.  The book takes us on her journey to figure whether she sound run as fast as she can or stay where she seems to be drawn.  Nothing is as it seems in this series.  There are angels, demons, vampires, witches, gypsy’s, shape shifters, oracles, demon cowboys and even Vikings (yes, I said Vikings – and demon cowboys).  This series has a combination of mythology, historical and modern aspects to it which makes for a great “I cannot put this down” page turner. The latest installment is ‘Sacrifice of The Septimus Pt 1’ which was released this month and is one of the best books in the series, ‘Sacrifice of the Septimus Pt 2’ is expected to be released in July 2016 (Stephanie writes like a madwoman, I don’t know when she sleeps!). 

Stephanie Hudson is also working on two other spinoff books from the series which release dates are TBA.

You can purchase Afterlife Saga books at www.amazon.com …. GO! GO! GO!


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s